Select Page

St. Andrew’s Model United Nations 1.0


St. Andrew’s College of Arts, Science and Commerce conducted its SAMUN from 28.01.2020 to 29.01.2020. Keeping in mind the college motto, SAMUN 2020 kept its theme as “Empowering the Youth”.

The delegates encompassed the youth of our college from the junior to the master’s level. They opted to represent different nations. The debates that followed were indeed very fruitful. It was a moment of pride and satisfaction for the members of the organising committee of SAMUN, to watch the students from junior college debate effortlessly and hold their own, with students of the master’s course.

SAMUN had three committees:-

  1. United Nations Security Council: – Addressing the issue of World War 3 and reducing the nuclear danger.
  2. United Nations Human Rights Council: – Violence based on sexual orientation and identity.
  3.  International Press.

There were 53 participants. At the end of the two days’ discussion on agendas, resolutions were passed by the committees and the conference concluded with the awards lauding the best speakers, being handed out by Dr. Charmaine Braganza.

A few weeks later, the SAMUN core team visited the Indian Student Parliament also called Bhartiya Chhatra Sansad, which was organized by MIT- School of Government, in collaboration with the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Education. It was organized at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi from 20.02.20 to 23.02.20. It has as its objective ‘connecting politically /socially active youth of India on one platform for the common purpose of strengthening democracy and to inculcate a national vision.’

Three students from college were involved in the conference:

  1. Sanjay Prajapat (FY-BBI)
  2. Christina D’souza (FY-BA)
  3. Ritchelle Brahmane (FY-BA)

These students were accompanied by Professor Dr. Charmaine Braganza.

The inaugural session had the presence of distinguished leaders, including the former President of India (late) Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the Vice- President of India M. Venkaiah Naidu, the Speaker of Kerala State Legislative Assembly, Goa SLA, various MLA’s, MP’s from Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. The gathering was also addressed by Sister B.K. Shivani, Mrs. Naina Lal Kidwai, V.C with Swami Ramdev Ji and Shri Sadguru, amongst other dignitaries.

It was a great opportunity to listen to these great leaders from different walks of life. The discussions that followed covered fields like economics, politics, environment and social, to name a few. After the discussion, resolutions were passed with regard to individual topics discussed in the session through a show of hand voting procedure.

It was indeed an amazing experience to be part of the 10th Bhartiya Chhatra Sansad 2020.

Professors In-Charge:

Dr. Charmaine Braganza,

Dr. Vatika Sibal,

Dr. Preeti Oza,

Ms. Roshani Bhatu.

Students In-Charge:

Sanjay Praiapat (FY-BBI),

Christina Disouza (FY-BA),

Richelle Brahmane (FY-BA).